Skip to Content
HomeAbout this siteHelpSearch this site The Library of Congress
America's Story from America's LibraryMeet Amazing AmericansJump Back in TimeExplore the StatesJoin America at PlaySee, Hear and Sing
Jump Back in Time 镀金时代  (1878-1889)
Lewis and Clark Map

Enlarge this image

北达科达 (North Dakota) 与南达科达 (South Dakota) 于1889112日添加联邦了


第一批欧洲探险队在1742年进入这个区域。在那个时候,至少有八个美国原住民部落在这里定居,包括克洛族 (Crow) 、夏安族 (Cheyenne) ,以及达科达族 (圣提族 Santee、苏族 Sioux) 。这些原住民对这两个州的许多风俗习惯都有很深远的影响。

After controversy over the location of a capital, the Dakota Territory was split in two and divided into North and South in 1889. Later that year, on November 2, North Dakota and South Dakota were admitted to the Union as the 39th and 40th states. This vast territory was one of the last American regions to be settled.

The first European explorers entered the region in 1742. At that time, at least eight Native American tribes populated the area, including the Crow, Cheyenne, and Dakota (Santee Sioux). The Native influence still characterizes many parts of the states.


Library Of Congress | Legal Notices | Privacy | Site Map | Contact Us